Review: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo | (semi-)Spoiler Free

book

siege-and-stormTitle: Siege and Strom (The Grisha #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA Fantasy

Published: June 4th 2013 by Henry Holt and Company

Pages: 435

This is the second book of the Grisha trilogy and while the review doesn’t contain spoilers for Siege and Storm, there will be some for  the first book of the series!

Siege and Storm continues where Shadow and Bone left off. Alina and Mal are on the run from the Darkling. After crossing the True Sea, they try to make a new life for themselves on foreign land while keeping their identities hidden. Things take an unexpected turn and Alina will have to pick between her power, her country and her very first love.

Damn, Leigh Bardugo really knows how to write her books, they keep leaving me speechless and gaping. Her writing is so vivid but also so simple, it made it very easy to envision the world and the events that happened throughout the book, especially the fight scenes! They played in front of my eyes like a movie! She does it so well and effortlessly, I genuinely love reading what she writes.

I do have to say the beginning was just a teeny tiny bit slow for my liking but once the action picked up I forgot all about it! It ended up being really fast-paced, one thing happened after the other and you never knew what to expect! Just like the first book, Siege and Storm was full of action, suspense and unexpected twists and turns.

I love that everything about these books is so unpredictable. I didn’t know what to expect from this book, sometimes the second book of a trilogy doesn’t turn out so well and they’re boring and labelled as “fillers” but this one did not disappoint! I can’t decide if I liked it more than the first one or not!

Now, let’s talk about the characters, shall we?

A lot of new characters were introduced in this books that I really liked. The twins Tamar and Toyla (whose names I keep mixing up, oops!) were quite enjoyable and I liked them from the start. They’re both very loyal, always keep their word and do what is asked of them. And they’re strong as hell, I bet they could tear anyone in half! Even without Grisha powers!

We were also introduced to Nikolai, the new love of my life. I don’t know how he did it but I fell in love with him so deeply, I’d probably die for him if he asked me to. I’m not going to say too much about him because that would spoil some surprises but he is just a genuinely great person. He is witty and humorous, very handsome, unpredictable and even a little mad sometimes. He’s so very charming, he’s ambitious and driven, smart and innovative and he needs to be protected at all costs! God, I really do love him. I really liked what Alina said about him in the book and thought I’d share the quote: “He’d transitioned effortlessly from the role of a glib adventurer to arrogant prince, and now he became a beloved commander, a soldier who laughed easily with his companions and knew each commoner’s name.”

Alina went through some more character development in this book. She keeps growing and changing, for the better and sometimes even for worse. I like that she is a lot more sure of herself and her powers. But sometimes she says/thinks/does things that I’m not a fan of and I don’t know if it’s her power and greed for the next amplifier or the Darkling’s influence.

I don’t really have any opinions on the Darkling if I’m honest? He was barely in this book and I can’t decide if he has good or bad intentions and what he really wants from Alina. A lot of people seem to love him but I just can’t form and opinion yet.

The same applies for Mal. I liked him in Shadow and Bone and I was happy that Mal and Alina ended up getting together in the end! But in Siege and Storm both of them have changed. Mal doesn’t like Alina’s power and who she has become, he isn’t there for her when she needs him and he keeps distancing himself from her. And Alina is getting hurt in the process, over and over again. I get that they have been best friends since they were little kids and she has been in love with Mal for a long time but she deserves better! Someone who treats her right and supports her! But the both of them want the other to be someone they’re not and it’s taking its toll on their relationship.

A concept I would very much like though? Alina and Nikolai. Though they’re very much platonic in Siege and Storm I think they’d be good together! But, I mean, if Alina doesn’t want him I’ll gladly take him!!! My precious prince ♥♥♥

All in all I can say it was a thoroughly enjoyable book and I have become a big fan of the Grisha universe! I’m very excited to read the last book of this trilogy!

⭐⭐⭐⭐  (4 out of 5 stars)


Goodreads / Amazon (US) / Amazon (UK) / Barnes & Noble


Also, check out my review of Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) if you haven’t already.

9 thoughts on “Review: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo | (semi-)Spoiler Free

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this one! I agree with a lot of the things you said about the characters, especially Alina and Mal. I liked this more than the first book, but the third book is definitely my favorite. I can’t wait to see what you think of that one. Great review! Also, have you read the Six of Crows duology or are you planning on reading it? Because i would totally recommend you do, it’s great and it explores more of the grisha world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I still can’t decide which book is my favourite, I like them all! By the way, I’m curious, who do you ship Alina with?
      I haven’t read Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom yet but I’ve been meaning to for a WHILE! And it’s so funny that you mention it because I literally JUST ordered the two books like 2 hours ago haha 😀 I can’t wait to start reading, I’m soooo excited!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

