Mini Review: The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling/Chrystal S. Chan

*thank you to Netgalley and Udon Entertainment for providing me with an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review*jungle book

 

Title: The Jungle Book

Author: Rudyard Kipling, Chrystal S. Chan

Genre: Graphic Novels, Children’s Fiction

Published: April 3rd 2017 by Udon Entertainment

 

I was very excited that I was approved to receive this “The Jungle Book” graphic novel since The Jungle Book has been one of my favourite stories as a kid!

I don’t usually read graphic novels so I was very interested in how the graphics influence your reading experience. And I can tell you I wasn’t disappointed!

This adaptation is in Manga form which means you have to read it backwards and from right to left! I used to read Mangas when I was younger but it was still very confusing at first. You get used to it after the first few pages though and it gets very enjoyable.

I particularly loved the graphics of this adaptation! They were so detailed and unique and it made the whole reading experience so much better. They really help you visualise the story (since the action is literally right there in front of you!) and it makes reading and taking in information so much easier. It was great to see the story move along so fast, you could literally breeze through the story! And you don’t only get to read what the characters are saying but you get to see their facial expressions and body language. I think that is a big pro about graphic novels!

In any adaption you add or leave out certain elements of the original plot and it was done very well in this version. You could see the outline of the original story with a few unique quirks here and there.

What I really liked was that all the poems that were a part of the original book were a part of this adaptation, too! But in this adaptation they weren’t positioned at the end of each chapter but rather where it was fitting for the story and I must say they each fit perfectly in their respective slots.

I very much enjoyed reading a slightly different version of one of my favourite childhood stories!

⭐⭐⭐⭐  (4 out of 5 stars)

This graphic novels is published on April 3rd 2017 and if you want to get your hands on it head over to https://mangaclassics.com/ and get your copy 🙂

Have you read the actual Jungle Book book? Did you see the movie? Did you watch a lot of Disney movies as a kid? What is/was your favourite Disney movie?

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Review: The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling/Chrystal S. Chan

Leave a Reply

