Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Angsty Romances

T5WIt’s Wednesday! And that means it’s time for Top 5 Wednesday! T5W is a weekly book meme hosted by Samantha from Thoughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey. If you’re new to Top 5 Wednesday and want to participate, check out the Goodreads group for information and weekly topics!

This week’s topic is Favorite Angsty Romances!

definition: “angst” adj.: describes a situation or literary piece which contains dark, depressing, angry, and/or brooding emotions from the participating characters

*note: these are in no particular order (except maybe the first two)*

  1. Juliette and Warner from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

Alright, so if you really know me then you KNOW that Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series is my favourite series in the entire world and I would quite literally die for Warner! And if you’ve read the series you might agree with me that these books are full of angst, especially Ignite Me. I’ve only just re-read this series at the beginning of this year but god, just thinking about it makes me want to re-read it all over again! The relationship between Warner and Juliette is unlike anything I’ve ever read. Their romance is definitely full of angst, despair, frustration, love, strength, power, they’ve got it all. 10/10 would recommend 😉

  1. June and Day from the Legend series by Marie Lu

I almost didn’t remember this series because they’re not on my shelf since I got them from the library! I read these a long time ago but I remember feeling a lot of angst while reading these. June and Day are two teens in love who can’t be together at the end of book 2 due to certain circumstances that I can’t mention because I don’t want to spoil anything *winks*. Anyway, in the third book you experience a lot of angst between these two! There’s a lot of fighting, action, love, loss and pain. I really loved this series and the romance between these two. Very angsty, very emotional. (Damn, I really want to reread this series now!)

  1. Allie and Noah from The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

The NotebookWe all know Allie and Noah’s love story. If you haven’t read the book then you’ve probably seen the movie at least once (or ten times) and cried all the way through. This book/movie does not quite match my own definition of angst but I’d say it definitely has an angsty touch. I don’t think I need to explain, you guys know all the scenes! Just take a look at the rain scene or the “What do you want?” scene!

  1. Lou and Will from Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before YouAlright, I don’t think I need to explain this one either, right? I’ve seen the hype around Me Before You for years! I’ve only read the book last year shortly before the movie came out and I totally fell in love with it. Sure, there are some issues and I know that some people don’t like this book that much but I think it’s a great book. Will and Lou definitely have an angsty relationship and it was both heartbreaking and beautiful. I really enjoyed the movie, too, but I might have been influenced by Sam Claflin. He is just a gorgeous human being, isn’t he?

  1. Adam and Mia from Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman

Where She WentWhere She Went is the sequel to If I Stay. While I didn’t like If I Stay as much as I expected to (it just didn’t live up to the hype!), I adored Where She Went! I thought it was so much better than the first book! It takes place 3 years later and is told from Adam’s point of view; Adam and Mia are broken up, they’re older and more mature, and they meet again and inevitably have to revisit the past. And I just remember feeling so much angst while reading this book! Gayle Forman’s writing was so incredible and fitting, she really knew how to pull at my heart strings and pull the angst out of my chest!

Honorable Mention:

  1. Will and Layken from Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Slammed.jpg

This is the first (and so far only) CoHo book I’ve read and I have to say I really enjoyed it! I read it last year and to be honest, I don’t quite remember much of it *oops*. I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads though, so it must have been good, haha! All I know is that I really liked the romance between Will and Layken. It was your typical angsty, teenage love story, sometimes a tiny bit too cheesy and dramatic for my liking, but it tugged at my heart and had an angsty feel to it. I definitely have to re-read this some day!

That’s it for my Top 5 Favourite Angsty Romances for now! I know there’s loads of other angsty romances out there and I have a lot of the books on my TBR so I hope I’ll get to them soon and maybe do a part 2?!

Also, I know I’ve been very vague when talking about these relationships but I didn’t want to spoil anything!

Thanks for reading,

Jackie x

Tell me about your favourite angsty romances! Are any of them on my list? What is your #1 favourite angsty relationship like EVER? Please let me know in the comments below, I’m always looking for recs 🙂

23 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Angsty Romances

  1. The Hermit Librarian says:

    I’ve never read The Notebook (I know it has a slightly different ending than the movie), but I remember seeing the film and crying. There was a lot of love, but also a lot of angst. ;_;

    I have some trouble figuring out what’s got angst and what doesn’t. Thankfully Goodreads helps out with their lists and I realized I had read a few more than I thought! I’ve got The Hunger Games on my list (Katniss/Peta) and The Fault in Our Stars (Hazel/Gus).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sydney @ Fire and Rain Books says:

    oh wow this list is so perfect! In the third book I think I felt so much angst reading about June and Day’s relationship, ahh I was just so upset. I’m rereading the series now so let’s see how angsty it is. Also Allie and Noah 😭 Their relationship in the book (and movie) is just so so perfect and does have a healthy dose of angst I think haha. And I just love the ending

    Liked by 1 person

  3. abookwithoutend says:

    Omg now that you mentioned ‘Me before you’ I just thought of the angsty romance between Sophie and her husband in ‘The girl you left behind’ by Jojo Moyes. Why didn’t I add it?? It just made me so emotional… have you read that book? If not, I really recommend it to you! x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. May Everly says:

    Oh my gooooooooosh, I LOVE Legend!!! It’s one of my favorite series ever. And it’s so heartbreaking??? (Even though I didn’t cry I’M SO HEARTLESS.) AAAAGGGHHH NOW I WANT TO REREAD IT TOOOO XD ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

