Review: Hold My Hand by A.C. Oswald | Spoiler Free

*I received a free ARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Hold My HandTitle: Hold My Hand

Author: A.C. Oswald

Genre: YA, LGBTQA+

Published: March 1st 2017 by Ylva Publishing

Pages: 187

(via Goodreads): Bethany is heartbroken when her girlfriend, Savannah, dumps her with no explanation. Slowly, she rebuilds her life, meets Amber and begins to heal.
A year later they meet again and their feelings are as strong as ever. So why did Savannah leave her?
Bethany is devastated by the answer and realises she will lose Savannah again – to cancer.
In a world where time is fleeting but love lasts forever, Savannah and Bethany can only hold onto each other and live every dream they ever shared.


Goodreads / Amazon US / Amazon UK / Barnes & Noble


This story is about Savannah who leaves Bethany, her girlfriend of 5 years, one day for no apparent reason. They meet again a year later and Beth finds out that Savannah has been hiding the fact that she has cancer. Bethany wants to make Savannah’s last months as enjoyable as possible and they live every day together like it’d be their last.

At first, I didn’t really know where the story was going and I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. It was a tiny bit slow paced for me but once the story picked up it turned into your typical adventurous/fulfill your bucket list/last wish type of story and it was very sweet.

I thought Savannah was a bit unreasonable for not telling Beth about her cancer. They have been together for 5 years and known each other since high school. Bethany was Savannah’s one true love, and the other way round, but instead of just telling her that she had cancer, Savannah broke up with Beth. She wasted and sacrificed an entire good year of hers, living miserably and alone even though she still loved Beth. She not only hurt Beth with that decision but also herself. It just didn’t make sense to me.

Bethany is a very sweet girl. When she finds out about Savannah’s cancer she does everything in her power to make life fun again for her. Savannah had given up after she left Beth, she was depressed and lonely and she thought she would die alone. But Beth completely changes her perspective and makes life worth living. It was sweet how Bethany tried her best to accomplish everything that Savannah had ever wished for.

The romance between Beth and Savannah felt real. I caught myself comparing the story and relationship to The Fault In Our Stars at times but I felt like in TFIOS it was overly sensationalized and dramatic. The author definitely made Hold My Hand feel more realistic. You could actually imagine it happening in real life and it made me realise that a lot of people actually do go through this every day.

If you read between the lines you could really tell that the girls had a tight bond and developed a great, sweet love. It felt true-to-life. Sometimes it was a little too cheesy for my taste, though.

I also wasn’t a fan of the very explicit sex scenes in the story. I didn’t really see the point and they didn’t contribute anything to the story. I would have preferred if they had just been left out to be honest.

For whatever reason, I wasn’t too attached to the characters so I didn’t cry or felt overly emotional about the story or the ending but I still liked it. This book wasn’t anything too spectacular and rather average but it was simple and had a sweet love story.

⭐⭐⭐.5  (3.5 out of 5 stars)

Jackie x

4 thoughts on “Review: Hold My Hand by A.C. Oswald | Spoiler Free

Leave a Reply

