Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

I admit, I didn’t want to do this tag when I’ve first seen it around but now EVERYONE is doing it and I stumbled across Mandy’s post and her answers to the questions were so on point and I could relate to so many of them so I just had to do it, too!

If you’re not following Mandy yet then you’re really missing out??? She is the queen of Disney princesses, in fact, her entire blog is filled with them! She even has her own Disney Princesses Rating System which is so cool and it amazes me every time! Go follow her blog. Right Now. Yes, I am forcing you.

(Oh by the way, I reread the Shatter Me books at the beginning of the year but I won’t be mentioning them because they’d literally be the answer to EVERY SINGLE QUESTION)

So, here we go!

  1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

Like Mandy, I am simply UNABLE to just pick one so here are a few πŸ˜‚

  1. Best sequel of 2017 so far?

Have I read a sequel in 2017??? I’ve read both ACOMAF and ACOWAR and I loved the both of them A LOT (but ACOMAF was just that bit better)! Ok, I couldn’t help myself and I had to add Ignite Me because that is my favourite book in the Shatter Me trilogy! *grins*

Β Β 

  1. New release you haven’t read yet but want to?

Ummm, so many??????????? I definitely want to read Queens of Geek and The Upside of Unrequited sooooon!

Β Β 

  1. Most anticipated release of the second half of 2017?

WHICHWOOD BY TAHEREH MAFI AND 27 HOURS BY TRISTINA WRIGHT AHHHHHH CAN IT BE OCTOBER/NOVEMBER ALREADY

Β Β 

  1. Biggest disappointment?

I participated in a blog tour for One S’More Summer and I expected a super cute and fun summer camp story Γ  la The Parent Trap (but with older characters) but I ended up DNFing this because it was so bad! A full review will be up soon-ish.

  1. Biggest surprise?

I have reviews up for all three of these (Future Leaders of Nowhere, The Space Between the Stars, The Map That Leads to You (wow, they all have such long names XD)) and all of them surprised me by how much I loved them!

  1. Favourite new author (debut or new to you)?

Favourite debut authors have to be Karen M. McManus and Stephanie Garber! I loved their debut novels sooooo much! And new to me this year was Leigh Bardugo! I read the entire Grisha trilogy in a week this February and I AM IN LOVE! *heart eyes*

  1. Newest fictional crush?

RHYSAND πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ AND NIKOLAI LANTSOV MY SWEET BABY

  1. Newest favourite character?

Oh my god. Nikolai Lantsov again ❀ And the entire Inner Circle (especially Cassian) (but also Azriel and Lucien my babies) (and Mor <3) (and obviously Feyre my queen) (and Rhys the most powerful High Lord of ALL TIME) (and sometimes Amren) uhhh yeah can you tell that I’ve become a little obsessed? :’)

  1. Book that made you cry?

You should have asked book that HASN’T made you cry!!! I cry at almost every book lol I cried loads during the entire ACOTAR series but let me mention the book where I cried THE ABSOLUTE MOST – Ruin and Rising. Thanks Leigh Bardugo. Also, I was on my period when I read it so I was OVERLY emotional! There was so much snot, it wasn’t pretty!!! #hormones…….. πŸ˜€

  1. Book that made you happy?

I don’t want to repeat myself here (cough ACOMAF) sooo GEEKERELLA! That one was just too cute and adorable!

  1. Favourite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year?

I’ve barely watched any films this year so there aren’t any I could mention here! I definitely want to see Everything, Everything when it comes out here (SMH Germany making me wait until the end of June while it’s already out in the US).

  1. Favourite review you’ve written this year?

I really enjoyed writing One Of Us Is Lying and a lot of you guys seemed to like it as well! It’s also my most liked review on Goodreads which is really cool!

  1. Most beautiful book you bought or received this year?

Can I just say all of them??????? No? Well. I can’t answer this question without mentioning the UK edition of Strange the Dreamer because IT’S SO GORGEOUS! (It’s a lot prettier in real life FYI)

  1. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

SIX OF CROWS! (I can already see May and Julianna on their way to my house with pitchforks so I’m gonna have to do it PRETTY SOON or you might never hear from me again ;-))

That’s it for the Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Thank you for reading!

Buttonnnn

What are your favourite books of 2017 so far? Which new releases are you most excited for? Any new favourite characters/crushes? Let’s chat in the comments!

163 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Bionic Book Worm says:

    Great list!! I’m currently reading The Space Between The Stars and I would definitely say it’s a surprise! Some of it is not at all what I expected both good and bad. I’m wondering how this is all going to come together. Trying to speed read and life is getting in the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. littlebookynook says:

    I LOVE Nikolai!!! Isn’t he just a sweetheart πŸ™‚ Omg yes to Six of Crows, it is SO FREAKING GOOD!!!! I loved the Shadow and Bone trilogy (omg have you seen the new book covers coming out for this series? Soooooo pretty!!!). I heard so many people say they wanted Alina and the Darkling together, but I didn’t get it because I thought the Darkling was an asshat. I guess it’s the whole bad boy thing… Sorry, I just went off on a tangent. Awesome answers!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

      YES NIKOLAI!!! He’s pretty much the love of my life 😍 and I need to read Six of Crows!!! ASAP!!! Ooh, I think I’ve seen the new covers! They’re pretty but I think I still prefer the old ones!

      The Darkling was so evil but he was such a good villain! And him and Alina could have been like a very dark, evil couple! That would have made things very interesting! XD
      Or she could have been GOOD with Nikolai! But no, she chose to be with the worst person EVER!
      Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bookprincessreviews says:

    OMG, Jackie, this was ADORABLE AND SO MUCH FUN. Your fangirling = so much perfection. 2017 is shaping up to be an AMAZING book year. SO. MANY. AMAZING BOOKS. ACOMAF. GEEK. ONE OF US IS LYING. ALLLLLLLLLLLL OF THEM TOGETHER. I’m disappointed I didn’t think about the Inner Circle for that that answer, because they are seriously so amazing and total favorites. Wonderful post, Jackie, and you’re so incredibly sweet to say those kind words!! You’re the best! ❀ Such a fun post! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Swetlana says:

    I’m going to join May and Juliana in their pursuit to make you read Si Of Crows as soon as possible! And since you already loved Leigh’s first series, I am 150% convinced you’ll love her next one too! You’re in for quite the ride!

    Also, Cassian is an absolute babe and if no one wants him – I’ll take him! I’ve really come to love him so much more after re-reading ACOMAF this year! I have never in my life squealed as much as when Cassian lands on that ice in ACOWAR. I was over the god damn moon!

    I feel like I need to do this tag too – I think I’ve seen it around booktube before and now that you’ve done it too, I’m like ‘SWETA DO IT!’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

      Hahaha everyone always screams at me to read Six of Crows. AND I WILL! I really do plan to read it and I already know I’m going to love it (Kaz is by Baby already and I don’t even know him lol) πŸ’œ

      Yes! Cassian is definitely my favourite out of the Inner Circle squad! Although I do have a soft spot for Azriel!
      AND YES! THAT SCENE ON THE ICE WAS SOOO AWESOME AND SO INTENSE!

      Yes please do! I’d love to see your answers to these questions! DOOOO ITTTT XD

      Liked by 1 person

  5. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    (I can already see May and Julianna on their way to my house with pitchforks so I’m gonna have to do it PRETTY SOON or you might never hear from me again ;-)) <– JU, MEET ME AT THE DUMPSTER AT NINE SO WE CAN FLY OFF TO FIND JACKIE AND COME AT HER WITH THE PITCHFORKS.

    Hmm what are you talking about I wasn't about to murder sweet Jackie no.

    AHEM. Geekerella was so cute and fluffy omg! It definitely made me happy. πŸ˜› And I have a checked out copy from the library (as always) of Strange the Dreamer, and it's GORGEOUS. I like the gold and blue cover (the one I have) better though…

    THIS IS RANDOM BUT I REALLY WANT TO HEAR YOU READ/WRITE SOMETHING GERMAN. I only know Guten tag. πŸ˜›

    I need to read Future Leaders of Nowhere! And DUDE. READING AN EMOTIONAL BOOK ON YOUR PERIOD IS THE WORST. Like first you're deliriously happy, and then you get so ANGRY (or frustrated), and the next thing you know you're sobbing and snot's all over the place. XD

    Wow this is long so I'll just end it. *flies off to find Ju and some pitchforks*

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jo-Ann says:

    Great list…and I don’t think I’ve read ANY of them! I’ve seen Which One of Us is Lying on other blogs, I’m really intrigued by that one. Six of Crows looks awesome too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Marie says:

    haha, I have yet to read Six of Crows just as well, you are not alone πŸ™‚ And I agree, that Strange The Dreamer cover looks stunning, I wish I had it on my shelves!
    Lovely answers! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sarah @betweenthepages says:

    I just finished Caraval last week and ahhh it was SO GOOD. I kinda hated the Tella and Scarlet sometimes because of their gullibleness (I don’t think that’s a word haha….) and stupidity but it’s not really heir fault I guess since Caraval is deceiving them but still frustrating! The world Garbed created inside of Caraval is just INSANE. Somehow she made it so happy and bright but easy to see through to the eeriness of it. (I LOVE IT. It’s actually so cool) THEY NEED TO MAKE IT A MOVIE AGH OMG!! That would be a crazy good movie if they could pull it off. And I’m currently reading One of Us is Lying and it’s so good!! (I’m a sucker for mysteries πŸ˜πŸ˜‚.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

      Yeeeeesssss, I loved Caraval! I agree with Tella and Scarlett! Although I’ve grown very fond of Scarlett throughout the story! I don’t really know what to think of Tella yet, I’m not sure if I like her πŸ˜‚

      OH YES, I AGREE 100%. I would love to see it being made into a movie!!!!! It’d be so freakin’ cool! Somebody better make that happen!

      Yay One Of Us Is Lying was so so good! I really hope you’ll love it! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  9. ravenblake99 says:

    Great list! It’s a fun book tag and I love doing it every year. I’m planning to do this tag at the end of this month. I loved Caraval, Acowar, Angelfall, Six Of Crows, Alchemists of Loom and Grisha Trilogy! I already have Strange the dreamer and one of us lying in my tbr list but I haven’t read them yet. I hope you enjoy Six of crows when you finally get to it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

